Such a good day!

Standard

It started with a lie-in, coffee in bed and Fathers’ Day presents for N, and then after lunch, he persuaded me to go with him and the dogs to Stevenston beach for a walk.  At the last minute, I decided to take my swimsuit, in case it was warm enough for a swim – and it was!!  Stevenston beach shelves very, very gradually, so I had to go a long way out, but I did get a bit of a swim, and I loved it.  Swimming in the sea or in a river or lake is one of my absolute favourite things – it is a totally different experience, and it is quite rare to be able to do it here in Scotland – but the water was, if not warm, at least not too cold, and it was sunny and not too windy, so I didn’t get frozen when I came out either.

The dogs had a wonderful time too – chasing a big stick that N kept throwing into the sea for them – they both did lots of running, splashing, swimming and chasing, and they met a number of other dogs too – and we ended up in Ardrossan, with a packet of chips that we shared with them – so, as days go, for labradors, it was a pretty darn good one!

I had left the mens tennis final from Queen’s to record, but something went wrong with that – but I got home and showered in time to see the last couple of games – Andy Murray won, 2 sets to 1 – and then there was a one-set doubles match between Murray and Tim Henman, playing Ivan Lendl and Tomas Burdic – which Murray and Henman won, and which was very funny.  Even funnier was the doubles competition that followed between Team Henman (Tim and three celebs, including Sir Richard Branson and Michael McIntyre), and Team Murray – including Jonathon Ross and Boris Johnson – who was using a tennis racquet that was probably older than me – and despite it being so old and warped, he played some pretty good tennis!  In fact, they all did pretty well, and it was hilariously funny too!

We finished the day with a nice meal of roast gammon, potatoes, peas and parsley sauce, followed by raspberries and white chocolate ganache – N’s choice for a Fathers’ day pudding.  

I have had such a good day.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

