Sweet saturday.

Standard

I was up and about early (well, early for me) this morning, due to a very vivid ‘going to the loo’ dream.  I think N was quite surprised to find me downstairs, drinking coffee and reading the paper, when he and No2 son got back from Morrisons at not long after 9am!

We are going out tonight, for supper with friends, so I decided to make fudge and hokey pokey (honeycomb or cinder toffee are other names for it) to take with us.  The fudge has turned out well – I have made coffee fudge and chocolate fudge – it is a Penguin cook book recipe, and actually turns out more like scottish Tablet – it has that grainy sugary texture that Tablet has, but doesn’t have condensed milk in it – but the hokey pokey was not an unmixed success.  It did bubble up very impressively indeed, but tastes far too much of bicarbonate of soda – even though I followed Nigella’s recipe.

I’ve had a second go at making it, and this lot does taste of cinder toffee, rather than bicarb, but hasn’t bubbled up anywhere near as much – so we shall have to see how it turns out when it is cool.  It should taste OK.

The major part of today has been spent watching Rugby – the first Lions test against Australia, which the Lions won (hurrah!), then the Scotland v Italy match for third place of the Quad tour – which Scotland won (hurrah too), and now I am watching the South Africa v Samoa match – the final of the Quad tour.  It is half time, and so far, South Africa are thumping Samoa.  I want Samoa to win, because I like the Sipitau (their version of the Haka).  Not a very scientific reason for supporting a team, but I don’t care.

I was going to post a picture of my sweets, but I can’t find it despite saving it to my pictures over and over again – so you are just going to have to imagine a lasagne dish full of fudge and hokey pokey.  Sorry.

 

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

