Good things and the joy (?) of teenagers!

Standard

Yesterday’s dinner with friends was great fun – it was one of those evenings where the time flew by, and before we knew it, it was nearly 11.30pm!  That said, we were still the first of the family to get home – both No2 and No3 sons were at parties – and we weren’t expecting No3 back at all, as he was supposed to be having a sleepover in the village – but he changed his mind and came home at 12.30am, just as N and I were thinking of going to sleep – so that was good timing.  Less good was hearing how much he had drunk in the evening, and I have had a talk to him about bingeing.

No2 son was supposed to be getting home at about 1.30am, and had said he would text his dad if he was going to crash at a friend’s house.  I couldn’t sleep, so tossed and turned, until nearly 3.30am, when I woke N to ask him if he had received a text from No2 – and he hadn’t.  Not only had he not texted but he wasn’t replying to either texts or calls from us, so we were getting quite cross – when he waltzed in through the door, with the excuse that he couldn’t ring us as his phone had almost run out of charge.  He is oh so very grounded!!

Today has been fairly quiet, as both N and I are so tired after our disturbed night.  He did manage to sleep between No3 coming home and No2 rolling in, and dropped off quicker than I did once No2 was safely tucked up in bed – but he then got up pretty early to drive the boys round their paper rounds, whilst I had a bit of a lie-in.  But I hadn’t got to sleep at all last night until after 4.30am, so even with the lie-in, I still only got about 6 hours sleep.

I did get N to take me over to Waitrose in Newton Mearns – I have been wanting to go for ages (I love a good Waitrose), and we had a light lunch there, and did a bit of shopping – and then had a quiet afternoon at home.  Unfortunately, No1 son is on his way home, but won’t be getting into Glasgow until after the last train for Johnstone has left, so we will have to drive in and pick him up, so no early night tonight.  Hey ho – such is the life of the parents of teenagers!

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

