The week did get better.

Standard

EEk – it seems I have not posted on here all week, since my rather depressive post on Monday.

So – things have got better during the week.  I have managed to make myself go to the gym, despite not really wanting to (I enjoy it once I am there – well, I enjoy the feeling of achievement – but I don’t desperately look forward to going).  I even had a go on the Elliptical machine – which I don’t like, but is good exercise – but I only managed a minute, and my knees have ached like a bitch ever since.  On Thursday, I weighed myself at the end of my workout, and I have lost another kilo – and maybe a bit more, because, if I am honest, I was a bit over 140kg the last time I weighed myself, and yesterday I was definitely 139kg!  I am flushed with success – and even if I carry on at this rate, and lose only 0.5kg per week, that is still weightloss, and will eventually get me to my goal of being around about a size 16 and fit enough to do the things I want to do.

My mum arrived on Tuesday evening, and we had a nice day together on Wednesday, and in the evening my sister arrived too, and we all spent the evening together, before I dropped them at the airport yesterday morning, for their flight up to Orkney, and on to Westray.  They will be coming back to Kirkwall on Saturday, and I will be flying up to meet them, for our week’s holiday staying in Stromness.

I am a bit apprehensive about this holiday, because despite a whole 3 weeks of regular gym attendance, I am not very active or fit, and I think a lot of what they want to do involves walking – to archeological sites/burial mounds etc.  One involves crawling for a number of metres, to get into the burial chamber, and I know that is going to be uncomfortable for me.  I guess I am worried that they are going to be judging me for how little I can do.  Mum is elderly and has mobility issues due to her vertebrae basically collapsing, so I think she can do less than I can, but my sister is quite fit – does a lot of cycling – and I know I won’t be able to keep up with her, or walk as far or fast as she does, and that does worry and depress me.

But I am trying to look on the bright side – we will have a week of time together, just the three of us, which should make some good memories, and I am sure I will enjoy seeing Orkney and its rich archeological heritage.  

And now I need to go and buy a new suitcase, and then I can pack!  I will try to update this – the apartment we are staying in does have wifi, but the ipad really doesn’t like this blog site – I can type things fairly easily, but if I try to correct anything, it all goes the shape of a pear, so it is pretty frustrating and difficult.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

