Oh I do like to be beside the seaside.

Standard

Or any body of water, actually.  If I am right (and I might not be) my birth sign, Sagittarius, is a fire sign, and yet I am most strongly drawn to water.  I love swimming, especially so-called wild swimming (sea, lake, pond, river loch etc), and if I am near water, I long to, at least, paddle.

I love the sound of water – I would love to have a house by the sea, where I could hear the sound of the waves breaking on the rocks from my bedroom as I was going to sleep and waking up.  Gentle waves on a sunny, windless day, huge crashing waves during a storm, anything in between – I would love it.  And if there was a beach that I could walk to, and swim whenever I wanted, or just sit on the beach and watch the water and listen to the waves and the seagulls, even better.

I’d also decorate my house in the New England beachside style – lots of gentle blues and greens, faded fabrics, soft whites, stripy fabrics and seashells.  I already have the seashells – I collect them whenever I can, along with smooth beach pebbles and sea glass.  My favourite thing that I bought on Orkney was a pair of earrings made of sea glass that I bought at a craft fair in Kirkwall Town Hall.

Our big trip during the holiday was a boat my sister hired for three hours, along with its owner who was an expert on seabirds and mammals.  We had a lovely time puttering around the islands, looking at caves and sea birds and seals, and I kept thinking how lovely it would be to live up there and own a little boat, and just head off out to somewhere utterly quiet and remote, and just sit in the boat, rocking gently on the waves, reading or knitting, or just watching the wildlife, before going in for a swim in the crystal clear waters.  Heaven.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

