Still feeling low.

Standard

But maybe it is a good thing that I am recognising it in myself.  I can see that my mood is low, rather than just being lost in the darkness – I think that is better.

I think I am going to read the book I bought over a year ago, on Cognitive Behavioural Therapy, and one on the mindful way out of depression, and see if I can learn the skills I need from those.

I have achieved some things this week, despite being low.  I haven’t been to the gym, but I have done not one, but two lots of housework – well, I have had two goes with the steam cleaner, working on the grout in the en suite bathroom.  It looks much better now, though not perfect – but it is hard work steamering away above shoulder level (above the window frame particularly), or scrubbing over and over at the same line of grout.

I have ordered some yarn to crochet a blanket for a friend who is pregnant – I am going to do lovely squares in turquoise, teal and cream – I am really looking forward to this.  I am also working on the little decorations for the Attic24 christmas wreath – even though the pattern for the holly leaf runs to several pages!  I have made little stars, and a triple layer flower, which are rather pretty, and I have bought some small balls of wool in a number of colours, so I can make lots more stars and flowers and balls and pompoms.

I think I need to complete some projects, to give myself that feeling of achievement.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

