Things getting better.

Standard

First thing – the dog is well on the road to recovery.  She has finished her specially-prescribed dog food, and is now on fish and rice, or turkey mince and potatoes (lovingly prepared by yours truly), hasn’t worried at her stitches at all, and is pretty much back to her normal self.  We’ve even started taking her out for carefully chosen and monitored walks – she was going stir-crazy!

No3 son has been very thoughtful and has been doing his best to live down what happened last weekend, and there hasn’t been any stress in the house, which has been good.

I think I am coming up out of the latest depression – last weekend did set me back, but not terminally, and I am feeling better now.  I think the St Johns Wort is definitely helping, and I will be buying more when this packet runs out.  I have also read a recommendation, from another mumsnetter, for omega 3 oils – she said they transformed how she felt – so I have started taking them too – at night time, because otherwise I get ‘orrible fishy burps!  I am also taking zinc, and vitamins B and D – and I have a multivitamin with iron that I should add to the mix as well – it can’t do any harm.

Last week was a fairly quiet week – I didn’t go out much as I felt I needed to stay at home and look after the dog, and I can’t think of lots of positive things I did – but maybe just getting to the end of the week, with the family all fed and healthy, is a positive.  I have been getting on with my knitting – I need to finish the sleeves of my cardigan, sew in the ends and sew the sleeves in before next Friday, so I can wear it to the celebration meal for my nursing group’s 30th anniversary.

We are going to a hotel and spa in Wilmslow – I am going for two nights, and I am quite looking forward to it – and actually that is a real positive for me.  In the past, I have often felt active dread at the thought of an upcoming social engagement – meal, meeting, concert etc – and have had to force myself to go.  I usually enjoy myself, so I know the dread is illogical, but it didn’t help that much, unfortunately.  But this time, even if I am not really looking forward to the weekend, I am not dreading it, and that is hugely positive.

So I can end this post on a high note!

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

