2nd of January.

Standard

My Positive Thing for yesterday is that I found the energy and motivation to make a really tasty steak pie for supper – I casseroled the steak for hours, with carrots, onions, celery, herbs, stock and a bit of port, and then thickened the gravy, before it went in the pie – and it seemed to go down pretty well with the family!

Today, I am feeling pretty lousy – I am full of a cold, and tired, and have a nasty tickly cough going on.  But I did get up before 9am (which was one of the small changes), although I am not actually dressed yet.  

But today’s positive thing is that it looks as if I am going to organise a meet-up of a number of FB crocheteers – we are all members of a page where there’s a new crochet blanket square, and someone had started a thread asking where everyone lived.  I noticed there are a number of scottish members, so mooted a meet up for coffee, crochet and gossip – and it seems like a popular idea.  Now I need to push past the barriers in my mind, and actually set a date and time!

I am a bit glad that I am not responsible for supper tonight – N is going to make flash-fried liver, with bacon and sausages, mash and cabbage.  I was never a fan of liver, as a child, but when he cuts it into thin strips, coats it in flour and fries it very fast, it is actually quite tasty – I can’t eat a lot of it, but I do have some and I do enjoy what I have.  If I can work up the energy, I might peel the potatoes for him later.  But now, I need to get myself some lunch – or maybe I need to have a shower and get dressed, and then have lunch – that might be a more productive order to do things – because if I curl up on the couch in my dressing gown, to eat my lunch, I will stay there for the rest of the day.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

