Struggling on.

Standard

At least I managed to go to choir last night – though it was bloody hard work, and my concentration is shot to bits.  I think if I hadn’t gone, I would have had to step out for the rest of this session and probably the next one too, as we are already rehearsing for the summer concert, so if I missed this term’s rehearsals, that would mean I didn’t know the repertoire for the summer concert.

I was so, so tired, though – especially as I had had a bad, broken night’s sleep beforehand.  And I am slightly ashamed to say that I took a sleeping tablet last night – my mum gave me some of her zopiclone the last time I saw her (she had it to spare, and I had had a really bad night’s sleep – and yes, I know I shouldn’t take someone else’s medication, but I am not taking anything else, and decided to chance it) – and I did get a better night’s sleep last night.  N is working from home today, so I was able to turn the alarm off, too, and sleep in, which helped.

I am going to start putting together my crochet patchwork blanket – I think I probably have enough squares now (and I have enough yarn to make some extra, if I need them, or to fill in any gaps that crop up).  I am a bit nervous about how it is going to work out – and about whether it is going to work out too – but I hope it will go together, and look good when it is done.

I’ve decided to make myself a crochet scarf – I have yarn in cerise, bronze, rust and yellow, and I thought if I made squares in those colours, and sewed them together, it would be a lovely warm-coloured autumnal scarf.  But before I make that, I want to make the Attic24 Christmas wreath – and I think I finally have (or have on order) all the yarn I need – so now I have to start crocheting stars, leaves, flowers and little balls – and then I have to finally learn to make pompoms.  I have never succeeded in making a pompom in my life – I have been reliably informed that I don’t wind enough yarn onto them – it needs to be really tight in the middle of the circle, so it holds together when you cut the edges, so you can get the yarn round it to tie it.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

