Checking in – day 8

Standard

How do I feel?  7/10 – normal physical stuff, but less tired because I let myself hit the snooze button a number of times this morning, so had a much-needed snooze.  

I do feel pretty positive today – yesterday’s therapy was really good – I was able to talk about the fear I feel about what will replace depression, as my recovery continues – the black dog has been such a massive part of my life for so long, that its absence – well, it will still be there, but massively diminished, and with its influence removed – that I know I will need a new focus.

We talked about the possibility of me training to be a counsellor or therapist – it plays to my strengths.  This came out of an exercise I did last week, where the first question asked basically who I want to be – my answer is below, in a poster that I have created for myself, so I can see these words every day, and hopefully they will work their way into my subconscious, and exert their influence from there.

It would seem I can’t insert a copy of the poster I have made – I am sure it is possible to post a pdf in here, but my poor brain can’t work it out – so here is the text I have used, and below is the picture I have superimposed it on.

Who I want to be.

Kind, thoughtful, intelligent, funny, well-read and well informed.

Willing to help others.

Having inner peace, balance, serenity.

Able to cope with highs and lows, not taking problems or set-backs personally.

Healthy, reasonably active, involved with things I enjoy.

 

 

Image

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

