Checking in – day 15

Standard

Firstly – how do I feel? 6/10 – which is quite surprising, because I didn’t get to sleep until after 3am last night. I didn’t manage to get to bed at a reasonable time, as I was planning, but it turns out it wouldn’t have mattered anyway, as I tossed and turned, and ended up coming downstairs again.

This was mainly because I remembered that No3 son had left his fully packed backpack for T in the Park in the den, and it has food in it and I was worried that the dogs might get in there and damage the pack to get at the food. I’d told him to put it in the cupboard, but he hadn’t, and when I spotted this at bedtime and tried to lift the pack it was too heavy for me, so I left it. But when I was trying to go to sleep, the worries about the dogs getting at the backpack wouldn’t stop nagging, so I came downstairs and managed to wrestle the pack into the cupboard – but then sat down at the PC to go online, instead of going back upstairs – I just didn’t feel sleepy. I did take the opportunity to go on Amazon, and order some books – Nora Roberts books that are missing from my collection – they will be my reward, to be earned in the next few days/couple of weeks.

Anyhow, I did finally get some sleep, and don’t feel too dreadful today, so it could have been worse. And it is a lovely sunny day, and that always lifts my spirits. I do know what I need, though, and it is a quiet, restful afternoon in front of the TV, or with a book – so I am going to go and make our supper now – we are having shepherd’s pie, so I can get it made ahead of time, and then the rest of the day is mine, all mine!!

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

