Ooops – I missed Sunday!

Standard

Which is a shame, as it was a pretty good day! I had a lie-in, but then got straight on with cleaning and tidying No3 son’s room – and by the time we’d finished, it looked really good. Then N and I treated ourselves to a trip to IKEA, where I had a sensible lunch – cold, hot-smoked salmon with salad – instead of the meatballs and chips I had at first considered. We picked up a few bits and pieces – No3 now has a storage box on his desk for all the tut that didn’t have any other home, a new duvet and a mattress protector.

I was looking forward to him coming home today, so he could luxuriate in his clean bedroom and new bedding – but he came home last night! One of his friends’ parents came and picked the two of them up, and he spent some time at their house, then came home. He’s abandoned a lot of clothes, and his sleeping bag there, because they got wet, and he couldn’t be bothered dragging them home, but he did bring home 10 cans of cider that another departing festival goer just gave him!

He was close to getting cross when I told him we’d tidied – he later said he was afraid we had just chucked out lots of stuff that he wanted to keep – but he kept a lid on his temper, and when he saw his room, he was really pleased – he says he’s never known it that clean and tidy! He had a shower, and then came down and told us all about T in the Park – it sounds as if he had an amazing time.

So – to checking in today. Unfortunately, I had another bad night – I was still awake at 3.38am, that I am sure of. So this morning, I feel pretty poor, physically and mentally. But emotionally, not too bad, so today is a tentative 6/10. What I need is a quiet day, so I have stayed home from knitting group, and I will be watching the cycling this afternoon – and maybe doing some knitting.

Dinner tonight is packed full of nutrients, though, so that should help perk me up – I planned a really good meal, to nourish No3 after his weekend of cereal bars, crisps, cider and chips – and we are having steak, dauphinoise potatoes, fresh veg, and strawberries and cream – yum!

I have also backslid somewhat on keeping a food record – I have about three days missing. I will fill in what I can today, but I think I will still have some days left blank – and if I am honest, they were not particularly healthy days. But today is a new day, with a healthy dinner planned (with the indulgent addition of the cream), and I have lots of cherries as a snack, for later on, so I am going to put the bad decisions behind me, and make some good decisions today.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

