Miracle day

Standard

My therapy homework for the next two weeks is to imagine Miracle Day – overnight, fairy dust has been sprinkled all over my life, and for one day, everything is going to be perfect, just as I would want it to be. I have to imagine Miracle Day – what has changed, what it feels like.

I am going to make a start today – I was thinking about things last night, and will do some more thinking over the next few days, and will come back and edit this, as Miracle Day takes shape in my mind.

For me, Miracle Day starts the night before – the sprinkling of fairy dust gives me the perfect night’s sleep, and I wake up completely refreshed – full of energy, no headache, no lingering weariness – ready to leap out of bed and start the day.

My therapist says that the fairy dust can shave off a few pounds too – so actually it is going to shave off a few stone – down to a size 16-18, I think. Still curvy, but no more overhanging stomach, and no more of the side-effects of excessive weight – achy joints, bad back, difficulty walking, lack of energy, itchy, sweaty places, stretch marks (blimey – this fairy dust is good stuff!!). Along with the energy, and the weight loss, I have motivation too, so off I go, with the dogs, to join the 9 o’clock walk – I get to know the other dog walkers, have some good conversations, and enjoy watching all the dogs playing together (and trying to mump dog biscuits from us all).

The other big thing the fairy dust has done is that it has transformed the house – it is tidy and clean, and all sorted out so I can keep it that way!

Miracle day – part 2:

I think the biggest thing that happens on Miracle Day is that I succeed at things – I can’t quite decide what, but maybe I have become a runner, and I go out for a lovely, long run.  Or I do some painting, and it works really well, and I produce something I am really proud of.  Or maybe I start writing a book – I would love to be an author.  Maybe I am in my dream job – school librarian, in a beautiful old building, where the library has old, built in bookshelves, and I am in charge of it all – I can order new books, I’m in charge when pupils are using the library for independent study, I keep order – being firm but friendly -during break and lunch time, and when I am alone in the library, I can use my time as I wish – I can tidy the shelves, make sure everything is in the right place and correctly classified – it is my library.

Hmm – it would seem I have the most detailed vision of the librarian job – maybe that says something.

Miracle day ends with a delicious, healthy meal, in a tidy house, and then I go to bed, and I sleep like a log again.

If Miracle day could do just one thing – it would be transforming my sleep – I feel so ground down by insomnia, tiredness, lack of energy and motivation, and daily headaches, and I am sure a lot of that is down to poor sleep.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

