Sunny Tuesday.

Standard

I was going to assess myself at a 7/10 again – but I am not sure if I am getting my assessments right. If I am looking at just me, then it is probably OK – I am not at my best, but above OK/acceptable. But 7/10 would be a B+/A- grade when I was at school, and that was a pretty good mark, and I don’t feel pretty good. To be honest, I feel OK – flat, a bit tired, definitely not full of the joys of Spring – or Summer. So I am doubting whether 7/10 is an accurate score – if it ever has been accurate since I started these daily check-ins. Do I feel nearly 75% of ‘As Good As I Have Ever Felt’? I am not sure.

But I have achieved some things so far today. The kitchen is a lot tidier – it needs cleaning but at least now I can get at the surfaces to clean them. And I have made shortcrust pastry, and a pie filling of char-grilled chicken, bacon, sweetcorn and white sauce – the filling is cooling in the microwave – AKA ‘the dog-proof cooling cabinet’ – and the pastry is chillin’ in the fridge. All I need to do now – when the filling, the pastry AND I have cooled down nicely (I was nearly melting when I’d finished the cooking), is to assemble the pie for baking tonight. And maybe make some matchstick carrots to go with – I don’t think it needs potatoes (but the males of the family can have potatoes if their little hearts desire them).

So – to sum up, I don’t feel great, and I probably haven’t felt 7/10 in living memory – but I do feel good that I have got stuff done.

And now I feel very confused altogether.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

