Minor to moderate depression

Standard

I have just done the Goldberg Depression test, and scored 28, which is mild-to-moderate depression. I find that encouraging – it is better than I thought I might do.

In the wake of yesterday’s confusion, I am going to start again with the ‘checking in’ daily process. I think I will stipulate that 6-7 out of 10 is the norm for me. It is a low norm, that isn’t properly reflected in the numbers, but I am going to look at how I am doing daily, relative to that norm, to see if there is improvement or regression. I think my norm is set fairly low – as time goes by, and there is improvement, I will have to adjust the scale somehow – maybe it is more accurate to say it is out of 15, rather than 10 – I don’t know. I might discuss this with my therapist next week.

So – today’s score is 6.5/10 – on the low side of the norm. I slept reasonably well, despite the heat, and don’t feel too headachey yet. I would like to get some tidying done today – my mother in law arrives for a visit in 10 days, and I would like the house to be clean and tidy – but it is a long way from that at the moment – it isn’t quite Kim and Aggie territory, but it is heading that way. I am going to try to persuade N to help me tidy and sort the office/library this weekend, and the rest I can tackle myself, I think. I need to do things gradually, a bit at a time.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

