Better today.

Standard

DSCF0872For a start, I slept better last night – so I felt better this morning – probably a 6/10, although I did wake up with a headache.

I had therapy today, and it was very interesting. From discussing yesterday, and my post about not having things to feel thankful about, and the responses to it, I learned that it is fine to not be OK, and to tell people about it, and that when I do, my friends support me and lift me up – and this contributed to my being able to do the spring cleaning in the conservatory – not something I would expect to get done on a day after a bad night, but my friends love made me feel stronger and able to do more.

We also talked about visualising the depression in my brain – a few weeks ago, I described it as big and dark grey, but today it had a bit more colour in it – dull browns and mustard yellows was what I came up with. We did a visualisation, bringing in more colour – and I saw a soft lavender blue pushing the darker colours down and into the bottom right hand corner of the visualisation. And then my therapist reminded me I can do that whenever I feel the need.

We also talked about food and eating, and about having healthy, easy-to-grab snacks available, so when I do want a snack, I can get something easily and quickly – because if something feels like hard work, I often don’t do it. We thought of things like grapes and cherries, fat free yoghurt with honey, and ice lollies – they have sugar in, but they are fat free, so not bad choices.

I have also got three blankets, five birds and a crochet flower brooch all packed up and labelled for their destinations, so I just have to get them to the post office tomorrow! I am so pleased with the little birds, and am planning to make lots more of them – I can make one in about 1.5 hours, so I can make one in an evening, and have that sense of achievement.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

