Catching up.

Standard

Things have been mixed, at best. Father in law’s visit ended eventually – but it was a very stressful week, what with having to shout everything because of his deafness, and the interminable, repetetive monologues on Supermarkets of Penzance, or My Diet and my Daily Routine, or Does that clocktower have bells that he treated us to.

N and I ended up having a huge falling-out on Sunday – sparked by the independence referendum, and a discussion on politics, but I had a huge melt down – I haven’t been that upset in living memory. I suspect that the stress of father in law’s visit, following so soon on the heels of mother in law’s visit, which was also stressful but for different reasons, played a big part in this.

Anyhow, I had a fairly good day yesterday – I met up with some of my MN friends at the Burrell, for knitting, crochet, coffee and gossip, and had a good time. But I was pretty knackered, because I’d slept really badly on Sunday night (a result of the row).

I slept better last night, and this morning I switched my alarm off, and gave myself a lie-in – I didn’t wake up until nearly 10am – I must have needed it.

So today I feel OK – 5/10 – and I need an quiet day, no stress. Maybe some crochet and some low-brow tv – I have several episodes of Dance Moms to catch up on. Supper is going to be pretty indulgent too – toad in the hole and cabbage – delicious, but does use a fair amount of oil, so not the healthiest of options.

Over the last week, I did do something productive – I finally worked out how to do single-colour granny squares, and went a bit nuts turning out one in every colour of dk acrylic yarn that I possess! I am amassing a stack of squares on the front room table, and eventually they will become a blanket for Yorkhill hospital – but for now, I am enjoying watching the pile grow! These pictures are not up-to-date – I made two more squares yesterday, in cerise and pale blue, so the stack is even taller. I am trying to resist the temptation to buy more colours to do more squares. I am not sure how much longer I can go on resisting – lol!

Crochet squares

Crochet squares 2

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

