Sleep – all I want is a good night’s sleep.

Standard

I didn’t sleep well last night. I am so sick of lying awake, afraid to get up and go downstairs because maybe I was just about to drop off, and that won’t happen if I am watching tv and crocheting, but fearing that I am never going to go to sleep.

Herbal sleeping tablets tonight, for sure. And no-one getting up at 5am to fly to London – not his fault, and he was very quiet, but I still woke up. I couldn’t summon the energy or motivation for breakfast. And I haven’t been managing the one-extra-portion of fruit/veg a day either. But I am trying hard not to be hard on myself for this – I will try to find the energy to go to Tesco and pick up a healthy lunch.

So today barely scrapes a 5/10, and what I want and need is some rest and peace and quiet. Luckily supper is pretty easy – gammon steaks with mash and peas.

If the sleep thing doesn’t get better soon, I think I will have to go to the doctor and ask for sleeping tablets. Surely, if a bout of insomnia has lasted over two months, they will agree that I need more than just advice on bed time routine and milky drinks?

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

