Rounding up

Standard

I’ve got my lovely friend J staying – she arrived on Monday – hence my lack of posts here! She is a positive whirlwind, and when I idly mentioned wanting to paint the kitchen, maybe, at some point, she leapt on this and pretty much the next thing I knew, I was in B&Q choosing paints! I did have a mild meltdown, because the specific colour we had chosen from the paint cards wasn’t available, and short of paying through the nose for them to mix some, we couldn’t get the same shade – and the proliferation of choice made me have a small crisis. I was trying to opt for aqua (we had gone in aiming to buy Seville Orange), and J was not having any of that nonsense – so after she made me take a few deep breaths and calm down, we ended up with terracotta.

So yesterday was spent painting. With the assistance of No1 son, we painted all of the kitchen, including the ceiling and the gloss work – and then collapsed in the evening! I was a bit worried about the colour, but now it is up, it looks lovely – really warm and Tuscan.

Today we’ve been to Pollock House, where we had a huge breakfast and then toured the house, followed by cakes before heading home. I have been Jolly Efficient, and not only is the bolognese for tonight’s supper done, but I have also got the beef for tomorrow’s meat and potato pie braising in the oven. I want to leave it cooking, long and slow, all evening, so tomorrow it will be fall-apart tender, and lush! But I do need to remember to keep an eye on it so it doesn’t cook dry.

I feel pretty crap today, physically – headache, achy joints from all the work yesterday, and I came over all faint in Pollock House, and had to have a little sit-down, before I fell down (luckily there was a Video Presentation – which I have seen before – but which was a good excuse to sit down for 12 minutes until my head stopped spinning).

Emotionally I feel OK – 5/10, I think – a bit stressed, particularly because I am not sleeping that well – and that has gone on for far too long – and partly because, what with the Commonwealth Games, and then lots of visitors, life has all been a bit hectic for me. But No2 goes back to university on Saturday, then No1 heads off at the end of the month, so I will get some more peaceful, quiet, tranquil days, and I think that will help.

I am off now to turf No2 out of the front room, so I can veg out and watch tv!

Oh – and Debbie Bliss – the Debbie Bliss has ‘liked’ a picture of one of MY crochet blankets, on the Woolly Hugs FB page!!

Kitchen 1

Kitchen 2

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

