I was worried last night…

Standard

It was the first time I had been completely alone in the house in ages – I can’t remember the last time. And I was a bit concerned that I would sleep badly – I always used to struggle if N was away over night, when the boys were little – I lay awake listening to every noise, and even used to leave the downstairs light on, just so there was some light coming into the bedroom – whereas now I do everything I can to stop light getting in.

But I slept pretty well, actually. I did have quite a late night – I had to stay up until gone 11.30pm, as No3 son needed a lift to school – he was heading off on a school trip to Alton Towers – and I ended up picking up three of his friends too, to take them all up. I’ve offered to fetch them all tonight, when they get in (probably around the same time) – No3 and his best friend have assured me that they will be happy to walk, but I am pretty sure they’ll change their minds after an overnight coach ride to Alton Towers, a day spent on all the rides, and then the equally long coach ride home – and as I have to wait up anyway, because N will be back very late, and will either need picking up from Glasgow central, or from Johnstone, I might as well be the parent who goes and gets the boys.

N’s mum has been admitted to the hospice – hopefully temporarily, whilst she recuperates from injuring her back in a fall. She’s had an x-ray to check that subsequent falls haven’t done any more damage, and that looks OK, so we are hoping that if she is somewhere where she can have 24/7 care, which should mean no more falls, and it should be easier for her to relax – plus she’ll be able to have physio to get the strength back that she’s lost, particularly in her legs, whilst she has been bedbound – then she will get back to a condition where she can either cope at home alone (maybe with her bed moved downstairs), or cope with carers coming in morning and evening.

Checking in with myself – I am feeling pretty good – fairly well rested, no headache, and quite positive – 6/10 all round, I’d say!!

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

