A pyjama day – but still productive.

Standard

I am having a somewhat lazy day today. I was up early-ish this morning, because N rang me just before 8am, and then again 10 minutes later – so I got up. But I haven’t got dressed yet – am still in my nightshirt and lovely, fluffy dressing gown – first time this autumn that it has been cold enough for me to need it! However, since getting up, I have folded all the washing from the tumble dryer, washed the mattress from No2 dog’s bed, and that’s now dry and back in her basket, and the duvet that is folded over to make her bed even more snuggly has been through the washing machine and is drying now. That means that, over the past two days, I have laundered all the bedding and mattresses from both dogs’ beds, and all the spare fleeces too – so the hall will not smell quite as ‘doggy’ as it did before.

I have also been trying to reason with a friend on FB who has a theory that depression is caused by people having too high expectations, and being all ‘poor me’ when they don’t get the material things they think they deserve. I have tried to explain about depression, and about how damaging what he is saying is – but to no avail, so I said I was leaving the thread and thought I should leave his group too. Stupidly, I am now a bit hurt that he has just removed me from the group without so much as a sorry. But I am focusing on my breathing, and on moving forward, not on that small issue.

I am giving some consideration to going and getting dressed – and maybe even to hoovering. The house is awash with dog hair, and it is bugging the hell out of me. It has almost reached the stage where I will be forced to act – that day cannot be far away! Maybe it will even be today! I watched Obsessive Compulsive Cleaners last night – and went upstairs and cleaned my filthy window ledge, and cleaned the loo too.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

