Achieving stuff.

Standard

My positive thing for today is the things I have achieved.  I have a playlist for my party on Saturday – well, I actually have two – one on the iPod and one on spotify.  I made the iTunes list first but then couldn’t find my iPod – so No2 son set me up with a playlist on his spotify account, and I have had a lot of fun searching out music on there.  We then found my iPod, so I have synced to that too – so I have a play list and a spare – and the venue have a spotify playlist too, as Plan C.

We’ve also been to the venue and talked over the final details – everything seems to be running pretty smoothly.

In other news, No1 son has finally made some serious inroads on sorting out his room and doing his packing, so he can head southwards on Sunday, to start his first proper, grown up job.  How did I get to be old enough to have a son with a degree and a proper job?  I am very proud of him, but a little blue at the thought of him moving out properly.  He’s been away at university, but that was different – his room was still here and he came home in the holidays.  I know he will still come home for some of his holidays – and as he will be in a rented, shared house, this will probably still be ‘home’, to some extent – but it is the next big step away from us – from me – and I am not entirely happy with it.

Of course I am happy that he has got a good degree, and a job with a very good career path ahead of him – but there is still a little part of me mourning at the loss of my baby.  I will get over it – I have to.  And I am proud that we have raised a boy who has been able to do well in his studies and get a job – a lot of the credit goes to him, but some must be down to parenting too.  And he knows I love him, and will miss him – and he will come home and visit – he’s promised.

Then next weekend, No3 son goes off to university, and the weekend after, No2 son goes back to university – so within just over a fortnight, they will all be gone – for the first time ever.  Then I will have to face the times when N is away for work, and it’s just me, on my own.  I am somewhat dreading it – but hopefully it will not be as bad when it finally happens, and I will cope.  I am sure I will cope, but it will take some adjustment.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

